Dallas Prostitution Attorney

Under Texas law, if it is alleged that you have offered to give, or receive money for sexual services, you can be charged with the criminal offense of prostitution.  Texas law is very strict in this regard, inasmuch as merely offering to pay for sex is sufficient to support a charge of prostitution.  The statute does not require that sex occurs, or even that any money change hands.  Simply stating, “would you like to have sex for money” to someone is enough to land you in jail (even if you don’t have any money).

If it’s your first offense, you will be charged with a class “B” misdemeanor, which carries a penalty range of up to 180 days in jail and a $2000 fine.  If you’ve been previously convicted once or twice before, the offense is enhanced to a class “A” misdemeanor, and the range of punishment is up to a year in jail and up to a $4000 fine.  And if you have three or more convictions, you’ll be facing a state jail felony.  State jail felony offenses can land you in jail for up to two years, and get you a fine of up to $10,000.