Texas Surcharge Attorney

Have you accrued Texas surcharges as a result of a DWI, or traffic ticket convictions?  Even if your driver license is suspended due to Texas surcharges, we may be able to help you obtain an occupational driver license, and get you back behind the wheel.  Under Texas law, the Texas Department of Public Safety will assess Texas surcharges against anyone convicted of certain traffic ticket offenses.

Traffic ticket offenses that give rise to Texas surcharges include: driving while license suspended, failure to maintain financial responsibility (i.e., no insurance tickets), no drivers license tickets, and moving violations (e.g., speeding, running a red light, etc.).  In addition, if you’re convicted of DWI, you will likewise face a stiff Texas surcharge.

For example, if you’re convicted of a no insurance violation, you will be assessed a $750 Texas surcharge.  No drivers license ticket convictions result in a $250 Texas surcharge.  By law, Texas surcharges must be paid in full within 30 days.  Otherwise, the Texas Department of Public Safety can suspend your driver license until you either pay the Texas surcharge in full, or set up a payment plan with them.